Introduction

Duchenne muscular dystrophy (DMD) is the most common type of muscular dystrophy in children. DMD is caused by deficiency in dystrophin, a protein which forms part of the Dystrophinassociated Glycoprotein Complex (DGC), whose components also include sarcoglycan, dystroglycan, syntrophin, dystrobrevin and other molecules. DMD is characterised by progressive proximal muscle weakness, which mostly develops in toddler boys after an initial disease-free period. No curative treatment is available to date; however, improved management of orthopaedic, cardiac and respiratory complications considerably increases quality of life and survival of DMD patients.

Management

The use of night splints (also called ankle-foot orthoses or cruropedal braces) is recommended for limiting tendon contracture in the early stages of Achilles tendon tightening. However, these offer limited...

 

Epidemiology and clinical diagnosis

Muscle biopsy confirms histologically the presence of muscular dystrophy, with characteristic features including muscle fiber necrosis and regeneration, together with varying degrees of tissue fibrosis...

 

Genetic aspect

The dystrophin gene found in DMD is located at Xp21, and has 7 tissue-specific promoters. To date, 16 different DMD mRNA have been identified...

 

Therapeutic clues

Based on the experience of Anglo-Saxon countries, we suggest long-term systemic treatment with oral corticosteroids at a dose of 0.75 mg/kg/day for Prednisone or 0.9 mg/kg/day for Deflazacort, starting in patients who...

 

Under the aegis of the

In partnership with

Introduction


La myopathie de Duchenne est la dystrophie musculaire progressive la plus fréquente chez l'enfant. Elle est liée à un déficit en dystrophine, protéine du complexe glycosarcolemmique (sarcoglycan, dystroglycan, syntrophine, et dystrobrévine). Le diagnostic est évoqué devant un déficit musculaire progressif proximal après un intervalle libre chez un garçon. L'amélioration de la survie est liée à l'amélioration de la prise en charge orthopédique, au dépistage précoce des complications cardiaques et respiratoires en l’absence de thérapeutique curative à ce jour.

Prise en charge

L'usage d'orthèses de nuit, mollets plantes ou cruro-pédieuses est préconisée pour limiter les rétractions tendineuses dès le début de l'enraidissement du tendon d'Achille mais avec un succès limité...

 

Épidémilogie | Diagnostic | Clinique

La biopsie musculaire confirme en histologie la dystrophie musculaire avec un phénomène de nécrose régénération associée à une fibrose...

 

 

Aspect génétique

Le gène de la dystrophine est localisé en Xp1. La séquence codante comprend 7 séquences promotrices avec la production detranscrits différents selon les tissus....

 

Les pistes thérapeutiques

L'expérience des pays anglo-saxons a conduit à proposer une corticothérapie systématique au long cours à la dose de 0,75mg/kg/jr pour la prednisone ou 0,9mg/kg/jr pour le Deflazacort après l’âge de 6 ans. Le bénéfice principal est un gain...

 

 

Sous l'égide de la

En partenariat avec